exceptionnoted

Just another WordPress.com site

Thou Shepherd of Israel, and Mine

Live Life! God's way

My parents kept sheep for many years on our farm in Northeastern Ontario. There were various ‘seasons’ in caring for sheep and helping them I learned a few valuable lessons. Sheep require care – they need someone to look after them, perhaps more so than many other farm animals.

Today’s hymn, using this theme of shepherding, is built on reflections of God’s care. If the LORD is my shepherd, I’m well cared for as His sheep.

Thou Shepherd of Israel, and mine,
The joy and desire of my heart,
For closer communion I pine,
I long to reside where Thou art.

The pasture I languish to find,
Where all who their Shepherd obey,
Are fed on His bosom reclined,
And screened from the heat of the day.

Ah, show me that happiest place,
That place of Thy people’s abode,
Where saints in an ecstasy gaze,
And hang on a crucified…

View original post 105 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

